The Back MicThe Back Mic: A List of the Democrats Who Fled to D.C., Stayed in Texas, or Are Off the Radar

This week — a list of the status of Texas Democratic lawmakers during the quorum break.
July 16, 2021

Don’t Miss “The Back Mic”

An exclusive look inside Texas politics and policy, every Friday.

List of the Statuses of Texas Democrats During the Quorum Break

Much of the Texas House Democratic Caucus jettisoned off to Washington, D.C. this week to prevent passage of a GOP-backed election reform bill. A two-thirds quorum is required for the 150-member House to do any business, and only four of the 67 House Democrats appeared in the chamber on Tuesday. Additionally, nine Democratic Senators left for the nation’s capital as well. 

The Democratic representatives are listed below based on their role in the quorum bust.

Democrats in D.C.

  • Alma Allen (D-Houston)
  • Rafael Anchía (D-Dallas)
  • Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton)
  • Diego Bernal (D-San Antonio)
  • Rhetta Bowers (D-Garland)
  • John Bucy (D-Austin)
  • Elizabeth Campos (D-San Antonio)
  • Sheryl  Cole (D-Austin)
  • Nicole Collier (D-Fort Worth)
  • Philip Cortez (D-San Antonio)
  • Jasmine Crockett (D-Houston)
  • Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas)
  • Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont)
  • Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville)
  • Harold Dutton, Jr. (D-Houston)
  • Art Fierro (D-El Paso)
  • Trey Martinez Fischer (D-San Antonio)
  • Barbara Gervin-Hawkins (D-San Antonio)
  • Jessica González (D-Austin)
  • Mary González (D-Clint)
  • Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin)
  • Bobby Guerra (D-Mission)
  • Ana Hernandez (D-Houston)
  • Gina Hinojosa (D-Austin)
  • Donna Howard (D-Austin)
  • Celia Israel (D-Austin)
  • Ann Johnson (D-Houston)
  • Jarvis Johnson (D-Houston)
  • Julie Johnson (D-Farmers Branch)
  • Ray Lopez (D-San Antonio)
  • Eddie Lucio, III (D-Brownsville)
  • Armando Martinez (D-Weslaco)
  • Terry Meza (D-Irving)
  • Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio)
  • Joe Moody (D-El Paso)
  • Christina Morales (D-Houston)
  • Victoria Neave (D-Dallas)
  • Evelina Ortega (D-El Paso)
  • Claudia Ordaz Perez (D-El Paso)
  • Mary Ann Perez (D-Houston)
  • Ana-Maria Ramos (D-Richardson)
  • Richard Peña Raymond (D-Laredo)
  • Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City)
  • Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin)
  • Ramon Romero. Jr. (D-Fort Worth)
  • Toni Rose (D-Dallas)
  • Jon Rosenthal (D-Houston)
  • Penny Morales Shaw (D-Houston)
  • Carl Sherman (D-DeSoto)
  • James Talarico (D-Round Rock)
  • Shawn Thierry (D-Houston)
  • Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston)
  • Chris Turner (D-Grand Prairie)
  • Hubert Vo (D-Houston)
  • Armando Walle (D-Houston)
  • Gene Wu (D-Houston)
  • Erin Zwiener (D-Driftwood)

The Four on the House Floor

The Texan Tumbler

  • Ryan Guillen (D-Rio Grande City)
  • Tracy King (D-Uvalde)
  • Eddie Morales, Jr. (D-Eagle Pass)
  • John Turner (D-Dallas)

Those Not Pictured in D.C. Who Didn’t Appear in the Chamber

  • Terry Canales (D-Edinburg)*
  • Garnet Coleman (D-Houston)
  • Abel Hererro (D-Robstown)*
  • Oscar Longoria (D-Mission)
  • Sergio Muñoz, Jr. (D-Palmview)
  • Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio)

Nine Senators in Washington

  • Carol Alvarado (D-Houston)
  • César Blanco (D-El Paso)
  • Sarah Eckhardt (D-Austin)
  • Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio)
  • Nathan Johnson (D-Dallas)
  • Borris Miles (D-Houston)
  • José Menéndez (D-San Antonio)
  • Beverly Powell (D-Burleson)
  • Royce West (D-Dallas)**

*Motioned for excused absence on Tuesday.

**Have since returned to the state.

If any lawmaker has returned to the state, feel free to let us know here.

Update: Reps. Terry Canales (D-Edinburg) and Oscar Longoria returned to the House chamber on Friday, July 16. Rep. Harold Dutton (D-Houston) returned to the House chamber on Tuesday, July 20.


Disclosure: Unlike almost every other media outlet, The Texan is not beholden to any special interests, does not apply for any type of state or federal funding, and relies exclusively on its readers for financial support. If you’d like to become one of the people we’re financially accountable to, click here to subscribe.

Get “KB's Hot Take”

A free bi-weekly commentary on current events by Konni Burton.

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson is a senior reporter for The Texan and an Ohio native who graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 2017. He is an avid sports fan who most enjoys watching his favorite teams continue their title drought throughout his cognizant lifetime. In his free time, you may find Brad quoting Monty Python productions and trying to calculate the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow.