The Back MicThe Back Mic: Bonnen’s Lists — Where All 82 Republicans Landed

In this week's Back Mic — a breakdown of Speaker Dennis Bonnen's various lists.
October 25, 2019

Don’t Miss “The Back Mic”

An exclusive look inside Texas politics and policy, every Friday.

“The Back Mic” is a weekly look inside Texas politics and policy presented by The Texan. In just a few bullet points every Friday, you’ll know about the critical developments from the candidates, elected officials, and policies that impact Texans everywhere.

Bonnen’s Lists — How were the 82 Republican lawmakers in the House sorted?

This week, Texas Speaker of the House Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) announced he would not seek reelection to House District 25, and the Brazoria County District Attorney announced the findings of the Texas Rangers Public Integrity Unit’s investigation would not result in criminal charges against Bonnen.

For a complete rundown of the controversy surrounding Bonnen’s quid pro quo offered to Empower Texans’ Michael Quinn Sullivan, click here.

The Texan Tumbler

One thing has become apparent throughout the course of this debacle involving a quid pro quo levied by Bonnen and Rep. Dustin Burrows (R-Lubbock) — the emergence of a variety of lists that divide the Republican delegation of the House into political factions.

Of the 82 Republicans currently in the Texas House, here’s a breakdown of who ended up on lists, who didn’t, and what this means for the Republican Caucus going forward.

Let’s begin with the list that started it all — here are the ten members who made it on Bonnen and Burrow’s target list given to Michael Quinn Sullivan on June 12:

  1. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio)
  2. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin)
  3. Ernest Bailes (R-Shepherd)
  4. Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches)
  5. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo)
  6. Kyle Kacal (R-College Station)
  7. Stan Lambert (R-Abilene)
  8. John Raney (R-College Station)
  9. Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton)
  10. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound)

Then, there were members who called out Bonnen for his actions. Here’s the list of those who called for Bonnen’s resignation, or rescinded their support of the speaker, by at least the night before he announced he would not seek reelection:

  1. Steve Allison (R-San Antonio)*
  2. Doc Anderson (R-Waco)
  3. Trent Ashby (R-Lufkin)*
  4. Ernest Bailes (R-Shepherd)*
  5. Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg)
  6. DeWayne Burns (R-Cleburne)
  7. Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches)*
  8. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo)*
  9. Sarah Davis (R-West University Place)
  10. Jay Dean (R-Longview)
  11. Dan Flynn (R-Canton) 
  12. John Frullo (R-Lubbock)
  13. Dan Huberty (R-Houston)
  14. Kyle Kacal (R-College Station)*
  15. Stan Lambert (R-Abilene)*
  16. Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio)
  17. Phil King (R-Weatherford)
  18. Chris Paddie (R-Marshall)
  19. Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound)*
  20. Four Price (R-Amarillo)
  21. John Raney (R-College Station)*
  22. Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler)
  23. Hugh Shine (R-Temple)
  24. John Smithee (R-Amarillo)
  25. Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton)*
  26. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford)
  27. Lynn Stucky (R-Denton)
  28. Tony Tinderholt (R-Arlington)
  29. Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands)

* indicates the member was one of the 10 targeted members on Bonnen and Burrow’s list. All 10 called for the resignation of or withdrew their support from the speaker.

Continuing, there are those who seemingly remained in the speaker’s good graces, and were on the list Bonnen published with his announcement that he wouldn’t run for reelection. They are credited by the outgoing speaker as those who “made it clear that it is in the best interest of both myself and the House to move on.” In his statement, Bonnen thanked these specific members for the “respectful and thoughtful way in which they have convinced me to do so.” Here’s that list:

  1. Cecil Bell Jr. (R-Magnolia)
  2. Keith Bell (R-Forney)
  3. Greg Bonnen (R-Friendswood)
  4. Brad Buckley (R-Killeen)
  5. Angie Chen Button (R-Richardson)
  6. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park)*
  7. Giovanni Capriglione (R-Southlake)
  8. Tom Craddick (R-Midland)
  9. John Cyrier (R-Lockhart)
  10. James Frank (R-Wichita Falls)
  11. Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)
  12. Craig Goldman (R-Fort Worth)
  13. Sam Harless (R-Spring)
  14. Cody Harris (R-Palestine)
  15. Cole Hefner (R-Mt. Pleasant)*
  16. Justin Holland (R-Rockwall)
  17. Todd Hunter (R-Corpus Christi)
  18. Ken King (R-Canadian)
  19. Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth)
  20. Brooks Landgraf (R-Odessa)
  21. Mike Lang (R-Granbury)*
  22. Jeff Leach (R-Plano)*
  23. Ben Leman (R-Anderson)
  24. J.M. Lozano (R-Kingsville)
  25. Will Metcalf (R-Conroe)
  26. Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville)*
  27. Rick Miller (R-Sugar Land)
  28. Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria)
  29. Jim Murphy (R-Houston)
  30. Tom Oliverson (R-Cypress)
  31. Jared Patterson (R-Frisco)*
  32. Dennis Paul (R-Houston)
  33. Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont)
  34. Scott Sanford (R-McKinney)
  35. Matt Shaheen (R-Plano)
  36. J.D. Sheffield (R-Gatesville)
  37. Reggie Smith (R-Sherman)
  38. Drew Springer (R-Muenster)
  39. Valoree Swanson (R-Spring)*
  40. Ed Thompson (R-Pearland)
  41. James White (R-Hillister)
  42. Terry Wilson (R-Marble Falls)
  43. Bill Zedler (R-Arlington)

* marks those who issued statements withdrawing their support from Bonnen’s speakership the morning he announced he would not seek reelection.

Here are those who were not found on any list:

  1. Dwayne Bohac (R-Houston)
  2. John Kuempel (R-Seguin)
  3. Andrew Murr (R-Junction)
  4. John Wray (R-Waxahachie)
  5. Gary Vandeaver (R-New Boston)

There are three others who didn’t make it onto any list, but serve on the General Investigating Committee, which has been actively investigating Speaker Bonnen since the allegations surfaced:

  1. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth)
  2. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas)
  3. Candy Noble (R-Allen)

Combined, these lists account for 80 of 82 total Republican members. The remaining two are none other than Dennis Bonnen and Dustin Burrows.


Disclosure: Unlike almost every other media outlet, The Texan is not beholden to any special interests, does not apply for any type of state or federal funding, and relies exclusively on its readers for financial support. If you’d like to become one of the people we’re financially accountable to, click here to subscribe.

Get “KB's Hot Take”

A free bi-weekly commentary on current events by Konni Burton.

McKenzie DiLullo

McKenzie DiLullo serves as Senior Editor at The Texan. Previously, she worked as a Capitol Director during the 85th legislative session before moving to Fort Worth to manage Senator Konni Burton’s campaign. In her free time, you might find her enjoying dog memes, staring at mountains, or proctoring personality tests.