The Back MicThe Back Mic: Members of the 88th Texas Legislative Session Listed

This week — Here’s a list of the incumbents and candidates who won races for the Texas Legislature ahead of next year’s session.
November 18, 2022

Don’t Miss “The Back Mic”

An exclusive look inside Texas politics and policy, every Friday.

List of 2023 Texas Legislators

The Texas House and Senate will see substantial turnover heading into this legislative session. Six new senators and 24 new representatives will join the Capitol ranks.

Here’s a list of every state legislator who will convene in Austin next year. Find out who represents you here.

*Denotes a returning member.


The Texan Tumbler

1Bryan Hughes* (R)
2Bob Hall* (R)
3Robert Nichols* (R)
4Brandon Creighton* (R)
5Charles Schwertner* (R)
6Carol Alvarado* (D)
7Paul Bettencourt* (R)
8Angela Paxton* (R)
9Kelly Hancock* (R)
10Phil King (R)
11Mayes Middleton (R)
12Tan Parker (R)
13Borris Miles* (D)
14Sarah Eckhardt* (D)
15John Whitmire* (D)
16Nathan Johnson* (D)
17Joan Huffman* (R)
18Lois Kolkhorst* (R)
19Roland Gutierrez* (D)
20Juan Hinojosa* (D)
21Judith Zaffirini* (D)
22Brian Birdwell* (R)
23Royce West* (D)
24Pete Flores (R)
25Donna Campbell* (R)
26José Menéndez* (D)
27Morgan LaMantia (D)
28Charles Perry* (R)
29César Blanco* (D)
30Drew Springer* (R)
31Kevin Sparks (R)


1Gary VanDeaver* (R)
2Bryan Slaton* (R)
3Cecil Bell, Jr.* (R)
4Keith Bell* (R)
5Cole Hefner* (R)
6Matt Schaefer* (R)
7Jay Dean* (R)
8Cody Harris* (R)
9Trent Ashby* (R)
10Brian Harrison* (R)
11Travis Clardy* (R)
12Kyle Kacal* (R)
13Angelia Orr (R)
14John Raney* (R)
15Steve Toth* (R)
16Will Metcalf* (R)
17Stan Gerdes (R)
18Ernest Bailes* (R)
19Ellen Troxclair (R)
20Terry Wilson* (R)
21Dade Phelan* (R)
22Christian Hayes (D)
23Terri Leo-Wilson (R)
24Greg Bonnen* (R)
25Cody Vasut* (R)
26Jacey Jetton* (R)
27Ron Reynolds* (D)
28Gary Gates* (R)
29Ed Thompson* (R)
30Geanie Morrison* (R)
31Ryan Guillen* (R)
32Todd Hunter* (R)
33Justin Holland* (R)
34Abel Herrero* (D)
35Oscar Longoria* (D)
36Sergio Muñoz Jr.* (D)
37Janie Lopez (R)
38Erin Gamez* (D)
39Armando Martinez* (D)
40Terry Canales* (D)
41Bobby Guerra* (D)
42Richard Peña Raymond* (D)
43J.M. Lozano* (R)
44John Kuempel* (R)
45Erin Zwiener* (D)
46Sheryl Cole* (D)
47Vikki Goodwin* (D)
48Donna Howard* (D)
49Gina Hinojosa* (D)
50James Talarico* (D)
51Maria Luisa Flores (D)
52Caroline Harris (R)
53Andrew Murr* (R)
54Brad Buckley* (R)
55Hugh Shine* (R)
56Doc Anderson* (R)
57Richard Hayes (R)
58DeWayne Burns* (R)
59Shelby Slawson* (R)
60Glenn Rogers* (R)
61Frederick Frazier (R)
62Reggie Smith* (R)
63Ben Bumgarner (R)
64Lynn Stucky* (R)
65Kronda Thimesch (R)
66Matt Shaheen* (R)
67Jeff Leach* (R)
68David Spiller* (R)
69James Frank* (R)
70Mihaela Plesa (D)
71Stan Lambert* (R)
72Drew Darby* (R)
73Carrie Isaac (R)
74Eddie Morales, Jr.* (D)
75Mary Gonzalez* (D)
76Suleman Lalani (D)
77Lina Ortega* (D)
78Joe Moody* (D)
79Claudia Ordaz Perez* (D)
80Tracy King* (D)
81Brooks Landgraf* (R)
82Tom Craddick* (R)
83Dustin Burrows* (R)
84Carl Tepper (R)
85Stan Kitzman (R)
86John Smithee* (R)
87Four Price* (R)
88Ken King* (R)
89Candy Noble* (R)
90Ramon Romero, Jr.* (D)
91Stephanie Klick* (R)
92Salman Bhojani (D)
93Nate Schatzline (R)
94Tony Tinderholt* (R)
95Nicole Collier* (D)
96David Cook* (R)
97Craig Goldman* (R)
98Giovanni Capriglione* (R)
99Charlie Geren* (R)
100Venton Jones (D)
101Chris Turner* (D)
102Ana-Maria Ramos* (D)
103Rafael Anchia* (D)
104Jessica Gonzalez* (D)
105Terry Meza* (D)
106Jared Patterson* (R)
107Victoria Neave* (D)
108Morgan Meyer* (R)
109Carl Sherman, Jr.* (D)
110Toni Rose* (D)
111Yvonne Davis* (D)
112Angie Chen Button* (R)
113Rhetta Bowers* (D)
114John Bryant (D)
115Julie Johnson* (D)
116Trey Martinez Fischer* (D)
117Philip Cortez* (D)
118John Lujan* (R)
119Elizabeth Campos* (D)
120Barbara Gervin-Hawkins* (D)
121Steve Allison* (R)
122Mark Dorazio (R)
123Diego Bernal* (D)
124Josey Garcia (D)
125Ray Lopez* (D)
126Sam Harless* (R)
127Charles Cunningham (R)
128Briscoe Cain* (R)
129Dennis Paul* (R)
130Tom Oliverson* (R)
131Alma Allen* (D)
132Mike Schofield* (R)
133Mano DeAyala (R)
134Ann Johnson* (D)
135Jon Rosenthal* (D)
136John Bucy* (D)
137Gene Wu* (D)
138Lacey Hull* (R)
139Jarvis Johnson* (D)
140Armando Walle* (D)
141Senfronia Thompson* (D)
142Harold Dutton, Jr.* (D)
143Ana Hernandez* (D)
144Mary Ann Perez* (D)
145Christina Morales* (D)
146Shawn Thierry* (D)
147Jolanda Jones* (D)
148Penny Morales Shaw* (D)
149Hubert Vo* (D)
150Valoree Swanson* (R)


Disclosure: Unlike almost every other media outlet, The Texan is not beholden to any special interests, does not apply for any type of state or federal funding, and relies exclusively on its readers for financial support. If you’d like to become one of the people we’re financially accountable to, click here to subscribe.

Get “KB's Hot Take”

A free bi-weekly commentary on current events by Konni Burton.

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson is a senior reporter for The Texan and an Ohio native who graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 2017. He is an avid sports fan who most enjoys watching his favorite teams continue their title drought throughout his cognizant lifetime. In his free time, you may find Brad quoting Monty Python productions and trying to calculate the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow.