The Back MicThe Back Mic: The Endorsement Lists of Two Pro-Life Groups Are Compared

This week — the two foremost pro-life advocacy groups in the state release competing endorsement lists for the 2022 primary.
February 18, 2022

Don’t Miss “The Back Mic”

An exclusive look inside Texas politics and policy, every Friday.

Sparring Pro-Life Groups Release Endorsement Lists

Two pro-life advocacy groups in Texas have a history of falling on different sides of intra-GOP political fights. Each election cycle, Texas Alliance for Life PAC and Texas Right to Life PAC release their own endorsement lists which frequently clash with one another. Below is the list of the two groups’ endorsements.

A blank cell means that the group did not endorse in the race, and races without an endorsement from either group are not included. 

RaceAlliance for Life PACRight to Life PAC
GovernorGreg Abbott*
Lieutenant GovernorDan Patrick*Dan Patrick*
Attorney GeneralKen Paxton*
Comptroller of Public AccountsGlenn Hegar*Glenn Hegar*
General Land OfficeDawn Buckingham
Commissioner of AgricultureSid Miller*
Railroad CommissionerWayne Christian*Wayne Christian*
Supreme Court of Texas, Place 3Debra Lehrmann*
Supreme Court of Texas, Place 5Rebecca Huddle*
Supreme Court of Texas, Place 9Evan Young*David Schenck
Court of Criminal Appeals Place 2Mary Lou Keel*
Court of Criminal Appeals Place 5Scott Walker*Clint Morgan
Court of Criminal Appeals Place 6Jesse McClure*Jesse McClure*
Congressional District 1Nathaniel Moran
Congressional District 2Dan Crenshaw*
Congressional District 3Van Taylor*Van Taylor*
Congressional District 4Pat Fallon*
Congressional District 5Lance Gooden*Lance Gooden*
Congressional District 6Jake Ellzey*
Congressional District 8Christian Collins
Congressional District 10Michael McCaul*
Congressional District 11August Pfluger*
Congressional District 12Kay Granger*
Congressional District 13Ronny Jackson*Ronny Jackson*
Congressional District 14Randy Weber*Randy Weber*
Congressional District 15Monica De La Cruz-Hernandez
Congressional District 16Irene Armendariz Jackson
Congressional District 17Pete Sessions*
Congressional District 21Chip Roy*Chip Roy*
Congressional District 22Troy Nehls*
Congressional District 23Tony Gonzales*Tony Gonzales*
Congressional District 24Beth Van Duyne*Beth Van Duyne*
Congressional District 25Roger Williams*
Congressional District 26Michael Burgess*
Congressional District 27Michael Cloud*Michael Cloud*
Congressional District 28Sandra Whitten
Congressional District 31John Carter*
Congressional District 34Mayra Flores
Congressional District 36Brian Babin*Brian Babin*
Congressional District 38Wesley HuntMark Ramsey
Senate District 1Bryan Hughes*
Senate District 2Bob Hall*
Senate District 3Robert Nichols*Robert Nichols*
Senate District 4Brandon Creighton*
Senate District 5Charles Schwertner*
Senate District 7Paul Bettencourt*Paul Bettencourt*
Senate District 8Angela Paxton*Angela Paxton*
Senate District 9Kelly Hancock*
Senate District 10Phil KingPhil King
Senate District 11Robin ArmstrongMayes Middleton
Senate District 12Tan Parker
Senate District 17Joan Huffman*
Senate District 18Lois Kolkhorst*
Senate District 20Westley Wright
Senate District 22Brian Birdwell*Brian Birdwell*
Senate District 24Pete FloresPete Flores
Senate District 25Donna Campbell*
Senate District 27Adam Hinojosa
Senate District 28Charles Perry*Charles Perry*
Senate District 30Drew Springer*
Senate District 31Kevin Sparks
House District 1Gary VanDeaver*
House District 2Bryan Slaton*
House District 3Cecil Bell, Jr.*
House District 4Keith Bell*
House District 5Cole Hefner*
House District 6Matt Schaefer*
House District 7Jay Dean*
House District 8Cody Harris*
House District 9Trent Ashby*
House District 10Brian Harrison*
House District 12Travis Clardy*Ben Bius
House District 13Kyle Kacal*
House District 14Angelia Orr
House District 15Steve Toth*
House District 16Will Metcalf*Will Metcalf*
House District 17Tom Glass
House District 18Ernest Bailes*Janis Holt
House District 19Ellen TroxclairNubia Devine
House District 21Dade Phelan*Dade Phelan*
House District 22Jacorion Randle
House District 23Terri Leo Wilson
House District 24Greg Bonnen*Greg Bonnen*
House District 25Cody Vasut*Cody Vasut*
House District 26Jacey Jetton*Jacey Jetton*
House District 28Gary Gates*
House District 29Ed Thompson*Ed Thompson*
House District 30Geanie Morrison*
House District 31Ryan Guillen*Ryan Guillen*
House District 32Todd Hunter*Todd Hunter*
House District 33Justin Holland*Justin Holland*
House District 37Janie LopezJanie Lopez
House District 41John Guerra
House District 43J.M. Lozano*
House District 44John Kuempel*
House District 52Nelson JarrinCaroline Harris
House District 53Andrew Murr*
House District 54Brad Buckley*
House District 55Hugh Shine*
House District 56Doc Anderson*Doc Anderson*
House District 58DeWayne Burns*DeWayne Burns*
House District 59Shelby Slawson*
House District 60Glenn Rogers*Mike Olcott
House District 61Frederick Frazier
House District 62Reggie Smith*Shelley Luther
House District 63Nick SandersJeff Younger
House District 64Lynn Stucky*
House District 65Kronda Thimesch
House District 66Matt Shaheen*Matt Shaheen*
House District 67Jeff Leach*Jeff Leach*
House District 68David Spiller*
House District 69James Frank*
House District 70Jamee JollyHayden Padgett
House District 71Stan Lambert*
House District 72Drew Darby*
House District 73Barron CasteelCarrie Isaac
House District 76Ramesh Cherivirala
House District 81Brooks Landgraf*
House District 82Tom Craddick*
House District 83Dustin Burrows*
House District 85Phil Stephenson*Phil Stephenson*
House District 86John Smithee*John Smithee*
House District 87Four Price*
House District 88Ken King*Ted Hutto
House District 91Stephanie Klick*Stephanie Klick*
House District 93Nate Schatzline
House District 94Tony Tinderholt*
House District 96David Cook*
House District 97Craig Goldman*
House District 98Giovanni Capriglione*
House District 99Charlie Geren*
House District 105Gerson Hernandez
House District 106Jared Patterson*
House District 108Morgan Meyer*
House District 112Angie Chen Button*
House District 118John Lujan*John Lujan*
House District 121Stephen Allison*
House District 122Elisa ChanMark Dorazio
House District 126Sam Harless*
House District 128Briscoe Cain*Briscoe Cain*
House District 129Dennis Paul*Dennis Paul*
House District 130Tom Oliverson*
House District 132Mike Schofield*Mike Schofield*
House District 133Greg Travis
House District 136Michelle Evans
House District 138Lacey Hull*
House District 150Valoree Swanson*
State Board of Education, District 6Will Hickman*
State Board of Education, District 7Julie Pickren
State Board of Education, District 9Keven Ellis*
State Board of Education, District 10Tom Maynard*
State Board of Education, District 11Patricia Hardy*
State Board of Education, District 14Evelyn Brooks
State Board of Education, District 15Aaron Kinsey

*Indicates an incumbent.


Disclosure: Unlike almost every other media outlet, The Texan is not beholden to any special interests, does not apply for any type of state or federal funding, and relies exclusively on its readers for financial support. If you’d like to become one of the people we’re financially accountable to, click here to subscribe.

Get “KB's Hot Take”

A free bi-weekly commentary on current events by Konni Burton.

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson is a senior reporter for The Texan and an Ohio native who graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 2017. He is an avid sports fan who most enjoys watching his favorite teams continue their title drought throughout his cognizant lifetime. In his free time, you may find Brad quoting Monty Python productions and trying to calculate the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow.