The Back MicThe Back Mic: Trump Rally Speakers Announced, Senate Border Security Committee Formed, Campaign Ads Listed

This week — eight Texas officials will join Trump at his Conroe rally, a new Texas Senate committee on border security is formed, and campaign TV ads are compiled.
January 28, 2022

Don’t Miss “The Back Mic”

An exclusive look inside Texas politics and policy, every Friday.

Eight Texas Officials to Speak at Trump Rally in Conroe

Former President Donald Trump will hold a rally this Saturday in Conroe. Joining him onstage are seven Texas elected officials in Texas and the state Republican Party chairman: 

  • Governor Greg Abbott
  • Lt. Governor Dan Patrick
  • Attorney General Ken Paxton
  • Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller
  • State Senator Dawn Buckingham
  • Texas GOP Chairman Matt Rinaldi
  • Montgomery County Judge Mark Keough
  • Mayor of Gonzales Connie Kacir

Each of the statewide officials have been endorsed by Trump for their re-election campaigns in 2022, along with Buckingham, who is running for the open land commissioner position. The event will be held at the Montgomery County Fairgrounds and begins at 4:00 p.m.

On Monday, Trump sent out the statement, “Really big crowd expected in Texas this weekend. The rallies are bigger than ever before — so much to talk about!”

Patrick Appoints New Senate Border Security Committee

A new three-member committee was formed by Lt. Governor Dan Patrick this week to strictly handle border security. 

The Texan Tumbler

“Public safety is government’s first responsibility and there is no greater threat to public safety in Texas right now than the failed, open-border policies of the Biden Administration,” he said.

“With the influx of illegal immigrants and drugs across our border and our significant increase in funding and personnel to the border, today, I am announcing the creation of the Senate Committee on Border Security.”

The issue was previously the purview off the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs and Border Security, which will be renamed the Senate Committee on Veterans Affairs.

Sen. Brian Birdwell (R-Granbury) will chair the new committee with Sens. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood) and Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa (D-McAllen) appointed as members.

Hinojosa was one of five Democrats who voted for the legislature’s $1 billion border security appropriation approved during the second special session.

The chair of the former joint-issue committee is Sen. Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), who clashed with the lieutenant governor over the attempted repricing of the ERCOT market during the blackouts last year.

2022 Primary Campaign Ads Listed

With the primary election nearly a month away, here is a list of campaign ads from notable candidates in the most-watched races.


Lt. Governor

Attorney General

Land Commissioner


State Senate

State House



Disclosure: Unlike almost every other media outlet, The Texan is not beholden to any special interests, does not apply for any type of state or federal funding, and relies exclusively on its readers for financial support. If you’d like to become one of the people we’re financially accountable to, click here to subscribe.

Get “KB's Hot Take”

A free bi-weekly commentary on current events by Konni Burton.

Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson is a senior reporter for The Texan and an Ohio native who graduated from the University of Cincinnati in 2017. He is an avid sports fan who most enjoys watching his favorite teams continue their title drought throughout his cognizant lifetime. In his free time, you may find Brad quoting Monty Python productions and trying to calculate the airspeed velocity of an unladen swallow.